The Trouble with Wilderness; or, Getting Back the Wrong Nature

One of William Cronons’ main arguments is how humans define nature and wilderness as something that has not yet been destroyed by a human being. As we tend to destroy nature, we will do anything possible to put it back to normal or back to its nature. I agree with this argument, I believe that the nature of a human is to destroy everything in its way because we are selfish. Until one is stopped by force we will learn to appreciate how our surroundings impact us.  “…if nature dies because we enter it, then the only way to nature is to kill ourselves.” (8.) As extreme as it may sound, in the long run, we will vanish from this earth and nature will live on.

“The escape from history is one reason why the language we use to talk about wilderness is often permeated with spiritual and religious values that reflect human ideals far more than material world of physical nature.” (6.)  William is indicating that the wilderness cleanses our mind and it brings many to peace. The same goes to religious practices and how they build temples and sanctuaries with the same concept of tranquility and Zen.

I experience peace when I am in a natural place. When I went to visit Yosemite Park a few years back I remember arriving to a really big field of grass and a waterfall a couple miles out. All I could think of is how extremely beautiful everything looked, it almost looked fake. I began to run out in the field and jump around, and not one time did I remember any of my worries, my mind was clear.

Leave a Reply

